Pilgrim’s Challenge

Well good evening folks on this bitterly cold evening. Here is my definition of irony…I am training for the Marathon des Sables 2012, a race across the Sahara Desert, one of the hottest and driest places on earth.  Over the next two days I will be running 66 miles along the North Downs competing in the Pilgrim’s Challenge, temperatures are set to plunge even further tomorrow than they are today, snow is forecast.  Instead of further purchases for the desert race I have had to go and buy warmer winter running gear than I already possess!  Hmmmm.

So, please spare me a thought whilst you are tucked up in your centrally heated homes, beside radiators, in front of log fires, drinking wine & whiskey.  My aim tomorrow is to get to the halfway house after 33miles by the time the England rubgy match starts, as we are at least being provided with a big screen to watch it on before we settle down in our sleeping bags on camping mats – (silk sleeping bag liner essentially purchased today!).

So – if you are following me on this blog – I realise there aren’t many followers yet…but hey ho!  If you are following me then watch this space – photos during the race will appear.

Have a warm weekend all xx

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Pilgrim’s Challenge

  1. Will be thinking of you tomorrow from our toasty flat in Germany (where it’s -11 outside). Don’t get frost bite!

  2. Short Harry

    Blimey, Harry! Good luck – at least the sun in shinning…for now!

Leave a Reply

