Starting the new year with…..cricket! 

So Happy New Year folks….so my next few blogs are going to be distinctly not running training related.   There are a couple of reasons for this.  The first is that I am taking some time out and am cheekily staying in Cape Town, South Africa for the second cricket test at Newlands…see beautiful picture:

  

The second reason is that whilst I had intended to go for some lovely training runs in the African sunshine, the day before I flew, on the 28th December, I was out running along my favourite Cornish coastal path and managed to slip down at steep rocky section, and broke my distal radius – aka my right wrist!! Not the best laid plan.
So, I am being hosted by two of my greatest friends, favourite and most generous people here in Cape Town and for the time being unable to run.

  
Aulden & Rachael at Kirstenbosch above.

On New Year’s Eve we went to Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens and saw Jeremy Loops sing in 2016 which was just brilliant.  But today has been Day 1 of the Newlands Test…and oh what a day.  Now I have to be careful here…my friends are serious Protea supporters, and so being the only English supporter in the group I had to be respectful when we hit one of our many boundaries. We started off on the Grass Bank underneath the Oaks by the smaller scoreboard, just in the shade for the morning.  I have to admit, the catch that claimed Cook was phenomenal.  By lunchtime I was reminded of being on an Englsih beach, as there were many English fans around us who being in sunshine customarily took off most of their clothes. I left the leery singing to the somewhat boisterous Barmy Army – many of whom were in very good voice but also looking a little roasted by the end of the day. So hot was it at lunchtime that we sneaked out of the grounds for some lunch and fine South African wine in civilised air conditioning, but we soon rejoined the rabble, just past the president’s stand to see Root hit 50, then watch Stokes and Bairstow clobber the new ball all over the shop…I managed to get Morkel to sign my cast, but to be honest judging by his scribble it could have been anyone! It truly was a marvellous day of Test cricket, and no doubt 4 more days will follow.  As my brother Nick texted my…only 400 at least tomorrow will suffice.

 

Rachael and myself during lunch when everyone is allowed on the field.  

Aulden & myself in the stands during the final session.

  
Rabada bowling a fast one to Bairstow late in the day.

  
Myself & Rachael, Sean & Wilfred.
  
The Newlands Pitch in all its fullness & greenness. 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Starting the new year with…..cricket! 

  1. Catherine

    Great days cricket! Hope yr arm is ok and not too painful still.
    Continue to enjoy yourself and your happy start to 2016! Thank you Aulden and Rachael for looking after Harry.
    Miss you!
    Cxxxxxxxxx

  2. Alice Johnson

    Wow Harry! We’ve been watching on TV and thinking maybe we should visit someday –and you’re already there! What a test to witness! Properly, properly jealous, but so sorry to hear of your wrist -I hope it doesn’t hold up the prep too much…Have an awesom-azing time sweetie! Alice xxx

Leave a Reply

