Back to running….sort of!

So after all the excitement of the cricket in South Africa, and as England struggle to win the 4th test in Port Elizabeth, I must return my attention to my running training.

As most amateur marathon runners know, 18 weeks is an ideal amount of time to run a marathon.  Unfortunately I am going to have to stick to a hasty 15 weeks preparation as my broken wrist is hampering my running somewhat.  Running or training intensely at any pace is quite difficult, partly because the good people at Truro Hospital in Cornwall, and at St Thomas’s in London, have set my wrist at an awkward angle for me to have any dexterity.  The cast gets uncomfortable sweaty when doing high intensity training on a bike or treadmill, and the awkwardness of the cast means I have to hold my arm in to keep it as still as possible – so best laid advice has been to withhold from the running until it is out of cast as it may cause me to run off centre and generate niggling injuries! Role on 2nd February when hopefully the cast comes off…it is becoming quite boring having it on. Although it does get me out of doing press ups or pull ups!  Although wearing a training weighted vest with 28kgs in it and pulling a weighted sledge up and down is not affected by it – thanks Jon.

Anyways, I am confident that 15 weeks is going to be sufficient to lug myself around the London Marathon course in April.

Speaking of which I can now alert you all to the details of my fundraising page for the London Marathon.

I am running the London Marathon 2016 in memory of my darling Daddy, Robin Halfhead and raising money for a wonderful charity called Maggie’s. 

Maggie’s Centres helped my mother and father during my father’s battle with cancer.  The Maggie’s Centre in Oxford was a place they felt they could go to after they had been to one of my father’s consultations with his consultant and be given reassurance, advice, comfort and where they felt treated as individuals going through the cancer journey and not just another old couple where my dad was just another man with cancer facing a battle he couldn’t win.  They treated my parents with respect, and listened to them and answered their questions in a way that my parents could understand, and they treated them as old friends.  There was always a cup of tea and coffee, and homemade cakes and a friendly face to greet them.  Everyone going through cancer would benefit from visiting a Maggie’s Centre, they help you feel less frightened, less lonely, and able to share what you are going through.  They are run by volunteers, but are so well equipped and run by such wonderful people and they really make a difference.  If you can help me raise money for them, specifically for Maggie’s Centre in Oxford I would be so grateful.  They really helped my parents, and I know they can continue to help so many more people.

My fundraising page is http://www.virginmoneygiving.com/Runhurryharryrun 

For more information about Maggie’s please visit they’re web page on http://www.maggiescentres.org 

Thank you so much….

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

