Not the best start in the world….

So, all my good intentions last week to begin this blog of my Atacamah Crossing training with a vengeance and fighting fit have gone to pot. I am currently laid up on a sofa (which is an improvement from a sweat soaked bed), with a hot water bottle on my belly, a throbbing head, and achey limbs. Yep, I finally succombed to the flu this year. Having never caught it off my patients previously, it has struck me down quite literally – in fact I don’t remember being this sick in a long time, I’m only relieved that the desert race is in October and not like the MDS ¬†this coming April, as losing a week or so’s training at this point is not too drastic, but does feel on the mileage front a little bit like being back to square one!
Still, now that I am feeling up to typing, and looking at a screen again I can browse all the kit lists for the race and feel the stirrings of excitement as I look at off road trainers, sand gaiters, useful desert tools, etc etc.
Hopefully my next entry will see me back in trainers – until then, I must blow my nose – byee!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Not the best start in the world….

  1. Catherine

    What you need is some of Mummy’s delicious ‘Chicken Soup’!!!!!!
    Cxxx

  2. nick.halfhead@easynet.co.uk

    Hi Harry,

    Sorry to hear you’ve got the flu.

    Get well soon.

    I saw this yesterday.

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b052790w

    Was very good, if you haven’t seen it before. So revealing.

    Nx

Leave a Reply

